Skip to main content

Galloway Event

By 20/09/2014December 11th, 2018No Comments

Saturday 27th September 2014; 7pm to 8.30pm,
The Bakehouse, 44 High Street, Gatehouse of Fleet, DG7 2HP:

The Wigtown Book Festival presents: The Scottish Writers Centre at the Bakehouse
Headlining Richie McCaffery; with Carolyn Richardson, Emma Strang and David Mark Williams


Richie McCaffery lives in Stirling, and is studying for a PhD in Scottish Literature at The University of Glasgow (where he also works as a graduate teaching assistant). His first pamphlet, Spinning Plates (HappenStance Press, 2012), was followed by Ballast Flint (Cromarty Arts Trust, 2013) which has been shortlisted for the 2014 Callum Macdonald Memorial Award. Richie’s first book-length collection, Cairn, is due to be released in June from Nine Arches Press. He has been shortlisted for the Eric Gregory Award and the Scottish Book Trust New Writer’s Award numerous times.

Carolyn Richardson is a writer, painter, and Senior Lecturer at the University of Cumbria. She reviews poetry titles and interviews literary figures for a variety of magazines, and has served as judge for a regional round of the Radio 4 Poetry Slam. Carolyn is the Organiser of the Poetry Society’s Stanza group in Cumbria, and is currently supervising PhD creative writing students while continuing with her own work. Her recent publications include pieces in Spring (Gatehouse Press,2009) and American Mythville Vol 15. Carolyn has work in progress for Red Squirrel Press.

Em Strang writes poetry and, occasionally, creative non-fiction and book reviews. Her preoccupations are with nature, spirituality, and the relationship between the human and nonhuman. She has published work in numerous magazines, and is currently seeking a publisher for her first collection of poems: Habitude. Em has a PhD in creative writing (ecological poetry) from the University of Glasgow. She is a member of the steering-group of the Dark Mountain Project ( and teaches creative writing at HMP Dumfries.

David Mark Williams has won prizes for his poetry both in the UK and New Zealand. His debut collection, The Odd Sock Exchange, will be published by Cinnamon Press in 2015.

Tickets: £5. Free to SWC members.

Leave a Reply

Close Menu