The Scottish Writers’ Centre is managed overall by a Board of Directors, writers who volunteer their time to provide governance and strategic direction.

The current Board is:

Sheila Wakefield

Sheila Wakefield

Sheila Wakefield is a poet, editor and publisher, she founded Red Squirrel Press in April 2006, Postbox Press (literary fiction imprint) in 2015 and launched Postbox - Scotland’s International Short Story Magazine in 2019. She holds an MA in Creative Writing, her pamphlet, Limerance, (Talking Pen) was published in 2012.
Christie Williamson

Christie Williamson

Christie Williamson is a poet based in Glasgow, where he runs Tell it Slant Bookshop.

He is Scots Poetry Editor of Tapsalteerie press and enjoys reading his work whether for major international festivals or small local groups.

His first collection, "Oo an Feddirs" was published by Luath Press in 2015 and his second, "Doors tae Naewye" is expected early 2020. He comes fae Yell.

George Colkitto - Who We Are - Feb2020
Board Member

George Colkitto

George Colkitto writes for pleasure of words. He has poems in Linwood, Johnstone, and Erskine Health Centres. Recent publications are two poetry collections from Diehard Press and a pamphlet from Cinnamon Press.
George Gibson - Who We Are - Feb2020 small
Board Member

George Gibson

George Gibson is a former civil servant and lives near Loch Lomond in the West of Scotland. He has previously served on the Scottish Writer’s Centre Board of Directors and is an organiser and frequent contributor to, the long running and popular Balloch Open Mic.

His interests include cycling, cinema, music and literature.

His debut poetry collection was published in 2020 by Seahorse Publications.

Emma Mooney - Who We Are - Feb2020 small
Board Member

Emma Mooney

Emma Mooney is the author of A Beautiful Game and Wings to Fly, both published with Crooked Cat Books. Her shorter works, including poems and short stories, have appeared in numerous anthologies and magazines. Emma is presently working on the edits of her next novel and recently graduated with distinction from a Masters in Creative Writing at the University of Stirling. She believes passionately in giving everyone a voice.
Tom Murray - Our Team - Mar2021
Board Member

Tom Murray

Tom Murray is a full-time playwright, poet, fiction writer, mentor and editor living in Dumfries. He is currently a Poetry Ambassador for the Scottish Poetry Library. Also Open Book Lead Reader in the Scottish Borders. His previous residencies include: Scottish Book Trust Reader in Residence to Scottish Borders Libraries; Creative Writing Fellow to Tyne and Esk Writers; Clackmannanshire Writer in Residence. He was an editor of the Scottish Borders based literary magazine, The Eildon Tree for 11 years. His stories and poems published in magazines and anthologies in Scotland, and further afield. His plays widely performed. His publications include: The Future is Behind You (poetry), Sins of the Father (play), The Clash (play) and Out of My Head (fiction).
Marcas Mac an Tuairnier - Who We Are - Feb2020 small
Board Member

Marcas Mac an Tuairnier

Marcas Mac an Tuairneir works in Gaelic and English and is critically acclaimed as an award-winning writer, across genres, including poetry, prose, songwriting, drama, arts criticism and journalism. He has published two collections and a brand new collection in forthcoming from Tapsalteerie. He was the recipient of the Wigtown Gaelic Poetry Prize in 2017 as well as accolades from the Skye Reading Room, Highland Literary Salon, Scottish Association of Writers, National William Blake Prize and Strokestown Book Festival. He is poet-in-residence at The Balmoral Hotel in Edinburgh.He is the editor of online Gaelic arts blog amend the Gaelic editor of ‘The Poets’ Republic’. Marcas is a long-time advocate for Gaelic literature and is a board-member of the Scottish Poetry Library as well as advisor on panels and committees with The Saltire Society, The Scottish Book Trust and The Federation of Writers (Scotland).
Gail Winters - Our Team - Mar2021
Board Member

Gail Winters

Gail Winters is a Glaswegian writer of Poetry, prose, plays and working on ways to improve her performance skills. Her work can be found in a number of anthologies and on-line, the most recent of which is featured as part of A play, A pie and A pint, pintsize plays 2021.

A Steering Group is formed of a number of the directors and other volunteers: this manages our programme of events and manages other activities related to the Scottish Writers’ Centre’s work. Alongside board members, we have the valued support of Mark Cunningham.

Our workstreams are managed by Board members, with the support of Steering Group members and others.

Read more about the current workstreams in the Scottish Writers’ Centre.

Read more about the governance and the structure of the Scottish Writers’ Centre.

Our patrons are: Ron Butlin, Margaret Elphinstone, Rodge Glass, Liz Lochhead and Aonghas MacNeacail.