Skip to main content

Louise Welsh

Tuesday 10th September 2013; 7pm to 8.30pm,
CCA Clubroom, Glasgow:

‘In Process’ Masterclass with Louise Welsh

Louise Welsh is a Glaswegian author of five novels: The Cutting Room (2002), Tamburlaine Must Die (2004), The Bullet Trick (2006), Naming the Bones (March 2010), and The Girl on the Stairs (2012). She has also produced many short stories and articles, as well as written for radio and the stage (including a libretto for opera). Louise will look back over her work to date, and offer insights into her own inspiration.

She has been the recipient of several awards including the John Creasey Memorial Dagger, the Saltire First Book Award, the Glenfiddich/Scotland on Sunday, the Spirit of Scotland Writing Award, and the City of Glasgow Lord Provost’s Award for Literature. In 2007, Louise was included in Waterstone’s list of Twenty-Five Authors for the Future.

Louise has written many short stories and produced features for most of the major British broadsheets. She has also written for the stage, most recently Panic Patterns (2010) and Ghost Patrol (with composer Stuart MacRae) – an hour long opera which premiered at the Edinburgh International Festival in 2012, went on for a nine city tour, and won the Southbank/Sky Arts Award for Opera (2013).

Louise has also presented several radio features, including a five part series following in Edwin Muir’s footsteps for BBC Radio 4 (‘Welsh’s Scottish Journey’) and ‘How to Commit a Murder’ for BBC Radio Scotland (both produced by Louise Yeoman). Her work has been translated into twenty languages, and she has been awarded several international fellowships and residencies (including a Robert Louis Stevenson Award in 2003).

Louise was writer in residence for the University of Glasgow and the Glasgow School of Art, from November 2010 until April 2012.

Tickets: £6 (£3 for concessions). Free to SWC members.

Leave a Reply

Close Menu